Skip to main content

2019 National Awards

Celebrating local photographic talent

*Please note that the 2019 National Awards are now closed. Submissions to the 2020 Sony World Photography Awards will open June 1st, 2020.


The hugely successful National Awards reaches countries across the world, with the aim to reward local photographic talent. The competition is unique in its size and influence. An expert panel of judges is tasked with uncovering great photographic talent from each National Awards country, entered into any of the ten Open categories of the 2019 Sony World Photography Awards.

If your country appears on the right-hand side of this page, then any images you submit into the Open competition will be automatically entered into the National Awards.

National Award winners could receive a variety of prizes, ranging from Sony digital imaging equipment to having their work featured in the annual winners’ book. In addition, a number of the winners are brought to London to attend the prestigious Sony World Photography Awards ceremony.


“Winning a National Award was a huge reward for my hard work and this acknowledgment has made me focus even more on my work as a photographer. Sony and the World Photography Organisation have helped me gain some extraordinary exposure around the world!”

- Mikkel Beiter, Winner, 2018 Denmark National Award


Please note
- To be eligible for your National Award you must hold the nationality of the country and currently be residing in the country at the time of the Award (June 1, 2018 - April 17, 2019)
- The 2019 National Awards closed on January 4, 2019 at 13.00 GMT.
- Winners will be announced in February, 2019



View current and previous winners of the National Awards:

2018 National Awards

See galleries

2017 National Awards

See galleries

2016 National Awards

See galleries

2015 National Awards

See galleries

2014 National Awards

See galleries

Less than one month left to enter The Swap Project