Skip to main content



ソニーワールドフォトグラフィーアワードを通じ才能あふれる野心的な写真家をサポートします。 その具体策として2018年も4人の写真家に活動支援金“ソニーグラント”を進呈します。 また今年で2年目となる学生フォーカス部門参加者に対する奨学金の支給も行います。

2018 Professional Grant recipients

Click to see more

Sony has chosen the below category winners to receive the 2018 Grant:

Alys Tomlinson | UK | Discovery Winner & Overall Photography of the Year
Tom Oldham | UK | Portraiture Winner
Luca Locatelli | Italy | Landscape Winner
Balazs Gardi | Hungary | Sport Winner

2018 Student Grant Recipients

Click here to see more

For the second year, Sony has commissioned three photographers from the Student Focus competition to work together on a new body of work. The theme for this body of work will be announced later in the year.

Morgan Mulholland | South Africa | Stellenbosch Academy of Design & Photography
Anshul Mehrotra | India | University of Lucknow
Cao Hongmei | China | Qilu University of Technology

2017 Professional Grant recipients

Click to see more

our Professional category winners from the 2017 Awards were chosen by Sony to receive grants to pursue a project of their choice.

The 2017 Sony Grant recipients from the professional category are:

Frederik Buyckx | Belgium |  Landscape Winer & Overall Photographer of the Year
Will Burrard-Lucas | UK |  Natural World Winner
George Mayer | Russia |  Portrait Winner
Yuan Peng | China | Sport Winner

Behind the scenes from the project “Libido and Mortido” by George Mayer

2017 Student Grant recipients

Click to see more

Continuing to engage with the next generation of photographers, three young artists shortlisted in the 2017 Student Focus competition were commissioned to create a new body of work.

Working together as a collective across three continents, the photographers were challenged discover “How photography transforms our encounters with everyday objects?” 

The three photographers are:

Shravya Kag | USA | School of Visual Arts, New York
Tatsuki Katayama | Japan | Kyoto University of Art and Design
Sarah Schrimpf | Germany | Akademie der Bildenden Künste München

2016 Professional Grant recipients

Click to see more

Three 2016 Sony World Photography Awards Professional category winners: Amélie Labourdette, Maroesjka Lavigne and Nikola Linares were awarded with a Grant to assist the continuation of a personal project. The inaugural Sony grants supported diverse projects including the documentation of young bullfighters in Spain (Linares), landscapes of Iceland and Namibia (Lavigne) and the impact of man on the Tunisian desert (Labourdette).