Skip to main content

Past and present judges

Check out all the judges for past and present editions of the Sony World Photography Awards. 


2022 Judges

We're excited to reveal the judging panel for the Sony World Photography Awards 2022. From careers in editorial to academia, this year’s jury brings a range of knowledge and expertise from varied photographic backgrounds. 

Discover the 2022 jury

2021 Judges

The seven individuals making up the Sony World Photography Awards 2021 judging panel were chosen for their credibility and diversity. Each a leading voice in their field, the jury brings an impressive range of knowledge.

Discover the 2021 jury

2020 Judges

We are delighted to present the juries for the 2020 Sony World Photography Awards. The individuals making up this year's judging panel are international in scope and bring an exciting range of knowledge from wide and varied backgrounds in the medium. 

Discover the 2020 jury

2019 Judges

We are delighted to present the juries of the 2019 Sony World Photography Awards. Each member for this year's Awards has been specially selected and are all experts working across the photographic industry.

See the 2019 jury


2018 Judges

Experts from across the photographic industry will come together to decide the best images entered into the 2018 Sony World Photography Awards.

See the 2018 jury





2017 Judges

Experts from across the photographic industry will come together to decide the best images entered into the 10th anniversary of the world's largest photography competition, the 2017 Sony World Photography Awards. 

See the 2017 jury 

2016 Judges

The judges of the 2016 Sony World Photography Awards have been drawn from across the photography industry. Find out who judged the Professional, Open, Youth, National Awards and Student Focus competitions. 

See the 2016 jury

2015 Judges

The 2015 Honorary Jury was comprised of Oliver Schmitt, Matthew Leifheit, Xingxin Guo, Joanna Milter, Maria Pieri, Enrica Viganò, Sasha Erwitt, Jocelyn Bain Hogg and Sue Steward.

See the 2015 jury

2014 Judges

The Honorary Jury for the 2014 Sony World Photography Awards was chaired by W.M. Hunt and was comprised of Guy Harrington, Ruth Eichhorn, Isabella Icoz, Matthew Pillsbury, Harry Hardie, Poorna Bell, Simon Barnett, Johanna Neurath, and Hannah Brenchley.

See the 2014 jury

2013 Judges

The 2013 Jury consisted of Catherine Chermayeff, Tim Paton, Brandei Estes, Francesca Sears, Chien-Chi Chang, Fiona Shields, Caroline Metcalfe, Monica Suder, Macduff Everton, Andrew Sanigar, Juana de Aizpuruand, and Edmund Clark. 

See the 2013 jury

2012 Judges

Our 2012 Jury was chaired by W.M. – Bill - Hunt and consisted of Rebecca Lewis, Prabuddha Dasgupta, James Reid, Jon Jones, Jodi Bibier, Claudia Hinterseer, Michael Benson, Shizuka Yokomizo.

See the 2012 jury